Drug Sales in Oakland County
Drug Crime Attorney in Farmington Hills
In Michigan, the penalties for drug offenses vary depending upon the Schedule
category of the drug (with Schedule 1 drugs being considered the most
serious), the quantity of the drug and what you intended to do with the
drug. For example, with marijuana or prescription drug cases involving
possessing a small amount for personal use, these are generally classified
as misdemeanor offenses and may involve a maximum term of one year in
jail. On the other hand, if you possess the same drugs with the intent
to manufacture, deliver or sell them to another person, you are now facing
felony charges along with increased fines and sentencing.
Drug sales in Michigan are covered under Section 333.7401 of the Public
Health Code. Under Section 7401(1), a person shall not manufacture, create,
deliver or possess with the intent to manufacture, create or deliver a
controlled substance, a prescription medication, or a counterfeit prescription.
For a marijuana offense involving less than 5 kilograms or fewer than 20
plants, it is a felony offense punishable by not more than 4 years in
prison and a fine not to exceed $20,000 or both.
Any controlled substance classified as a Schedule 1, 2, or 3, with the
exception of marijuana is a felony offense punishable by up to 7 years
imprisonment and a maximum $10,000 fine, or both.
Any substance that is classified as a Schedule 4 is a felony offense punishable
by a maximum term of imprisonment of 4 years or a maximum fine of $4,000 or both.
For substances that are categorized as Schedule 5, it is a felony offense
punishable by up to 2 years in prison or up to a $2,000 fine, or both.
The fines for manufacturing or delivering a controlled substance range
from a maximum of $2,000 for a Schedule 4 or 5 substance to a maximum
fine of $1,000,000.00 for 1,000 grams or more of any mixture containing
a controlled substance. The terms of imprisonment for violations of Section
333.7401 range from a maximum of 2 years to life imprisonment in the most
Contact an Oakland County Drug Attorney
In addition to the above penalties and sentences, Michigan law requires
the suspension of driver's licenses for drug convictions. This means
that if you have no prior drug violations, your license may be suspended
for six months, but if you do have prior drug convictions in the last
seven years, your license may be suspended for one year.
drug charges? Contact our
Farmington Hills Office to speak with a drug crime attorney Daniel D. Hajji for meticulous and aggressive representation. Our firm
will work tirelessly to find holes and weaknesses in the prosecution's
case as well as any procedural errors or violations of your search and
seizure rights that may get your charges reduced or dropped. You deserve
to have a hard-hitting criminal attorney protecting your rights,
contact us today!