METHODS TO REDUCE OR DISMISS A DUI CHARGE IN MICHIGAN
In Michigan, most drunk driving arrests start with a charge of OWI ("Operating
While Intoxicated") or
OWI with a High BAC ( "Blood Alcohol Content of .17 or higher).
An OWI conviction will now result in suspension of your driver's license
for a short period of time followed by a restricted driver's license
for even a longer period of time before you can get your regular driver's
license restored back to normal. It also comes with 6 points added to
your driving record as well as $2,000.00 for Driver Responsibility Fees,
in addition to the court fines, costs and other fees imposed by the court.
If you do not plan on retaining a
drunk driving attorney to help you, and want to get an OWI charge reduced or dismissed, you should
first start with gathering the evidence before your first court pretrial
hearing date. This evidence ought to include, police reports, BAC Data-master
Ticket, In-Car Police Camera recordings, police station camera recordings,
and if available and applicable, 911 recordings. In addition, you ought
to request through the MI freedom of information act (FOIA), data-master
and PBT logs to ensure that the police administered the
breath tests properly in accordance with the administrative rules governing alcohol
Once you gather these documents and materials, you should begin to
evaluate them and highlight any discrepancies within. If you are, unwisely, proceeding
without a good
DUI Attorney to defend you, you should educate yourself with the legalities involving
unconstitutional arrests and administrative rule violations regarding
breath tests. Remember, mistakes or errors by the police can weaken the
prosecutor's case and may lead to a reduction in your OWI charge or
just a downright dismissal when you can show lack of evidence to convict.
In almost every OWI charge in Oakland, Macomb, Wayne, Washtenaw and many
other counties in Michigan, we have a high success rate of dismissing
an OWI charge to reduced charge that does not suspend our clients'
A charge of
OWI with a High BAC is a little different and much more difficult to get reduced, especially
in Oakland and Macomb county. If you are charged with this offense, you
should immediately contact the best DUI Attorney that you can afford.
A OWI with a High BAC conviction will suspend your license for 45 days
and to drive on a restricted license after the first 45 days, you will
have the option to install a device on your vehicle for 321 days. You
bare the expense for the installation of the device as well as the monthly
fees that come with it. After the 1 year is up and you have no violations,
you will have your driver's license fully restored provided that you
have paid your driver's responsibility fees and other fees imposed
by the MI Secretary of State. If you choose not to install the device
on your vehicle, you will not be able to drive for 1 year but will be
able to get your license fully restored thereafter.
Never just plead guilty to an OWI unless you have first talked to a DUI
Attorney in Michigan. Further, do not make the mistake of negotiating
your DUI charge without having your case evaluated properly and throughly
by an experienced DUI Attorney. Many attorneys make this mistake and you
should always make best efforts to retain a good DUI Attorney sooner than later.
If you have been charged with a DUI / OWI in Oakland County or Macomby
County Michigan, contact
Attorney Daniel D. Hajji for a free initial phone or office consultation. Main Office (248) 782-8322.